Category Archives: Champion

Pot Sharing for Champions League Group Draws

Pot Sharing for Champions League Group Draws

Champions League play-off round 2017/2018 completed on Wednesday (23/08/2017). A total of 32 contestants in the group phase was already officially known.

The draw of the group division for 32 Champions League contestants will be held on Thursday (8/24/2017) in Monaco.

The thirty-two teams will be divided into eight groups, each containing four clubs. Clubs from the same country will not be placed in a single group.

For the lottery mechanism, 32 teams are divided into four featured pots. Each group will be filled with one team each from pots 1, 2, 3, and 4.

Pot 1 contains defending champions and top seven European league champions based on UEFA coefficients in 2016.

Because Real Madrid are the defending champions and one of the seven best league champions, the champions of the eighth best league also enter pot 1.

Pot 2, 3, and 4 filled the remaining 28 teams. They are based on coefficients of the 2017 UEFA club.

Here are the pots divisions for the Champions League group draw of 2017-2018.

Pot 1: Real Madrid, Bayern Munich, Chelsea, Juventus, AS Monaco, Spartak Moscow, Benfica, Shakhtar Donetsk

Pot 2: Barcelona, ​​Atletico Madrid, PSG, Borussia Dortmund, Sevilla, Manchester City, Manchester United

Pot 3: Napoli, Tottenham, Basel, Olympiakos, Anderlecht, Roma, Besiktas, Liverpool

Pot 4: Celtic, CSKA Moscow, Qarabag, Sporting, Apoel, Feyenoord, Maribor, RB Leipzig

The entry of Napoli, Tottenham, Roma, and Liverpool in pot 3 potentially led to a number of groups of death.

For example, Real Madrid, PSG, Naples and Sporting are in a group or Bayern Munich, Barcelona, ​​Liverpool and Feyenoord.